“Get a Load of this Crap!”

The following was sent to me in an email from my dear friend Adrienne:

Good Wife

Apparently these “tips” were taken from The Good Wife’s Guide, published in 1955.  Adrienne’s reaction to it was “Get a load of this crap.”  Amen sister. It suggests the lady touch up her makeup and spend all day preparing her husband’s evening meal.  Arrange his pillow and offer to take off his shoes.

This would not work out for myself and J$ for two reasons.  The first is that he actually gets home from work 3-4 hours before I do. And secondly, no eff-ing way.  Times have changed, amigo.  How about he makes me a lovely meal for me to arrive home to?  Oh, and a cocktail would be lovely as well.  Thanks, J$.  You shouldn’t have.

Good thing I missed the boat on the housewife calling.

I’m looking forward to doing absolutely nothing this weekend.  It is the first weekend since the beginning of December that I didn’t have to travel, plan, expect guests or celebrate a holiday.  If you need me you can find me spooning with my DVR in sweatpants.  (I know. I’m really a prize.  It’s a shame I’m taken.)

Leave a Reply

