Then vs. Now

After a in-depth discussion with my gf Kelly yesterday I did a lot of reflection on my life now versus 3-4 years ago.

I graduated from King’s College in 2008.  The year post-graduation was one of those quintessential “early twenties” years that I feel every human should experience.  I was living in a crappy apartment, working at a job that paid next to nothing, working as a waitress a few nights a week to make ends meet, partying on any day of the week, living the single life and making mistakes.

I recall Wednesdays being my favorite day of the week due to one of my pizza place co-workers hosting a weekly “Wild Wednesday” at his gross apartment a few blocks from my weird third story walk-up apartment.  Festivities wouldn’t start until at least 10 or 11 and would go well into 3 or 4am.  And then I would be at work at 9am the next day, functioning as a human being.  It was actually at said apartment party that I met J$.  I knew him for about a year prior to the start of our relationship as a guy at the party house who was always a good time.  Funny how these things happen.

Fast forward 3 1/2 years to modern day Wednesday.  You know what my plans are for the evening?  Making dinner for myself and J$, hanging out with Lola, maybe going to J$’s bball game, maybe staying at home and watching Modern Family.  Then I will plan out my outfit for the next day and be in bed at 9:30pm. Because now, I have a job that I love.  And WANT to be at early and alert for.

I no longer have the drive or desire to be at a bar until close.  Drunks are annoying.  I get sleepy around 10:00pm, 11:00pm max. I like spending time with my dog.  And having my laundry ready for the following week.

Now, I still like throwing down every once in awhile.  I like Eric Church concerts, birthdays, weddings and other milestones.  If an old friend I haven’t seen in awhile is in town, I’ll definitely go out for a few. And sometimes Justin and I get tired of staring at each other and like to go to a Plymouth bar and stare at those crazy bitches for a few hours, put $5.00 in the jukebox and judge people.  But it’s no longer the norm.

I guess I’m just a grown up now.

Leave a Reply

