The GOP makes me LOL

As a general disclaimer, I feel that I need to preface this post with the explanation that at one time in my life, I was a very political person.  In college I majored in Political Science.  In high school I was co-captain of the debate team and very vocal on all of the political issues.  I have seen candidates for president give speeches multiple times.  It is no secret that I am obviously a registered Democrat, although my fervor has waned in recent years.  I guess I just no longer have that idealistic drive and ambition that I once had in my teens and early twenties.  Now at the ripe old age of 26 I still ardently support the Democratic Party, I just have developed a (slight) maturity to look at all issues and take an honest assessment of them.  Not just vote party lines for the sake of my party.

Ok. With that being said, I feel it is safe to say that this year’s batch of Republican candidates are the most ridiculous I have ever seen.  Ever. Allow me to elaborate.

Ron Paul is 76.  At the end of a four year term he would be 80.  Add another term onto that. 84. Do you know what 84 year olds should be doing?  Playing shuffleboard. Or bingo. Watching their “stories.” Not running a nation. Any nation.  Not even Djibouti, let alone the United States of America.

Mitt Romney is a Massachusetts liberal.  I would like him if he would admit that he is actually a Democrat.  Minus the whole “I love money oh so much” deal.  He has a socially liberal mindset of the New England elite that the Bible-belt conservatives won’t stand behind.  How he has become the front runner for the Republican party is confusing.

RINO = Republican In Name Only

Rick Santorum.  I refuse to even google this one for pics.  If you’re that curious why this one is so ridiculous, please refer to this.  It’s offensive.  This man cannot lead our nation.

This leaves us with our dear friend Newt Gingrich. OR, as I enjoy referring to him as, America’s Leading Hypocrite.   Rewind to 1998. Darling Newt lead the fight against President Clinton when he lead the proceedings in the House of Representatives to impeach President Clinton. We all recall the issue at hand was the President’s extramarital affair.  Newt was having his own affair at the time.  He is currently on wife numero tres. Now, I really do not care if the man has had 30 wives.  I’m not here to judge his personal life.  It’s simply confusing that he wants to appeal to “Christian Conservatives” when he has not lived their values systems as an example.  Also he is old and cranky.  And I imagine him yelling “HEY KIDS GET OFF MY LAWN.”

Let’s just leave this to the man to handle.  You know who I mean.

 

Leave a Reply

