January Thaw

Here in Wilkes-Barre, PA, all the snow from this weekend has already melted. I took the dog out without putting my winter coat on this morning.  It was 47* yesterday.   I attribute these abnormalities in climate to the January Thaw.  Vanessa told me that she hadn’t ever heard of this before, which surprised me.  I recall many warm January months while growing up, with the temps jumping slightly to melt the snow and allow for some yard work and general confusion.  After doing some research (googling), I learned that the January Thaw isn’t something actually scientific fact, its more a climate folklore, or a weather “singularity.”

See that tiny incline in January?  Phenomenons like this fascinate me.  Just like Indian Summers, balancing eggs on the equinox and Sasquatch.

While we are on the topic, I find it important to note that my boyfriend not only believes that “Squatch” exists, he also believes that he is living at the dam which he fishes and that he heard him jump into the water.  Real life.

Oh, and before I forget, make sure to watch the State of the Union tonight. Perhaps with a brew or two.  Your decision.

Leave a Reply

